To drive & vlog or not to drive & vlog? That is the question: An Open Discussion

Have you ever been looked over at the person in the car next to you and were shocked at what you saw? Ever had to swerve out-of-the-way to avoid being hit because they weren’t paying attention? I have seen some wild things, all very hazardous to not only the guilty driver but to others on the road, too. I have seen people putting on makeup/mascara, shaving, eating, picking their nose knuckle deep (not so much dangerous as it is gross/funny to watch), texting, putting clothes on, listening to music with headphones on, driving drunk, picking stuff up from the back seat or off the floor, taking pictures, or reading an old-school large foldable paper map, (seriously, people still use those?) as well as reading printed Mapquest directions.  Call me old-fashioned, a worry wort, up tight, whatever you want, but it frustrates me to see people putting other people’s lives in jeopardy because of their poor judgement. There are somethings that should be done at home and not in the car.  I won’t lie and say my hands are always at 10 & 2 but I do realize the severity of distracted driving.

Earlier this week, a fellow blogger posted on a topic that I want to open up for a discussion with my readers. I would love to hear what your opinions are on the matter.  I met Nate St. Pierre back in August at the 20sb Bloggers Summit in Chicago.  He is one of those people who immediately draws you in because he is that inspiring.  (Side note: In case you don’t know him, he has a fabulously wonderful company called Love Bomb where each week someone, who is going through a rough time, for whatever the reason, is selected to receive message of love, encouragement, hope etc.  Every week he is making an impact on someone’s life. It really is a beautiful thing. So if you aren’t familiar with it, check it out!)  But I digress.

So naturally, I started following his blog after we met. Nate is a vlogger and has recorded some of his videos while stuck in traffic.  His commute is nearly 3 hours a day so I understand the concept of making the most out of your time.  However, something about vlogging while driving bothers me and got me thinking.  Just how many people do this?  He isn’t the first person to record himself while driving. I noticed it during VEDA too. I think it is reckless to drivlog. You are not completely focused on the road and your reaction time is slower, even if you are only going 10 mph because you are not fully focused.  Holding the camera in one hand and the wheel in the other is no easy task. But is it safe? Can you really react at your utmost potential if you are looking into the camera you are holding? I don’t think so. If I were to see someone drivlogging, it would upset me because they are more focused on their video than on their surroundings and fellow drivers.  Is it worth the risk? It only takes one time to be distracted and there are plenty distractions out there, we don’t need to increase that on our own. That one distraction could be the difference between getting in an accident (albeit serious or not) or getting home safe.

If someone fender-bendered me and I found out that they were drivlogging, even if they were only going 5 mphs, I would be pissed.  I am not calling Nate selfish, but I do think that drivlogging is. What is the legal stand on this? I am pretty sure that the video could be used in court, should it get that far. Even if it wasn’t actually the vloggers fault, could they be seen as guilty for negligent driving?

So when Nate vlogged asking his viewers  if he should be drivlogging,  I wanted to contribute my thoughts.   He said, “Lately my ridiculously long commute has driven me (ha, see what I did there?) to video blogging in traffic. Should I be doing this? Yes or no, tell me what you think…” 

Apparently, I was the only one who commented on his post saying that I didn’t think it was a good idea.  To my surprise, most people were very supportive of vlogging while driving.  Realizing I was the only one, I became curious to know what more people thought about this topic.  Below is our thread from his post.

That is where you come in.  What are your thoughts on drivlogging? Do you think it is okay to drivlog? Have you done it? Seen others do it? Does speed matter? Is it okay if you are in a gridlock? Does it make a difference if your camera is mounted so that you are hands free? What other kinds of crazy things have you seen while driving?

Please share your thoughts, regardless if you agree with me or not. All I ask is that you please be respectful of others opinions. Thanks.

I’m all verklempt: Talk amongst yourselves…

Let’s get this discussion going!

P.s. I should copyright that term: Drivlog.

13 thoughts on “To drive & vlog or not to drive & vlog? That is the question: An Open Discussion

  1. Hopefully he’ll learn his lesson the easy way, when he’s only going 10mph. It seems very selfish to “break” his gridlock rule. I see it as just as bad as someone breaking their two drink rule on driving. Very selfish and pretty dumb.

    • I hope he realizes it is unsafe, rather than learn a lesson, because there is no safe and unharmed way for that to happen. but I do hope he all drivloggers realize it is not worth it!

  2. Such a bad idea. It’s when you are in gridlock where you would have to pay attention if someone braked suddenly and you’re usually not that far behind them. :/ I would very much rather not have people around me texting and vlogging while driving. So dangerous.

  3. @20 SA – Yes, there have been a few times that I’ve “broken” the gridlock rule, and it scares me. You’re right, it’s definitely not safe, and after the last time I did it I made the decision to not do that again.

    @suki – I disagree about the gridlock time. Usually I’m going anywhere from 5-10 miles an hour, and many times I’m completely stopped. I’m not staring at the camera while talking, I’m simply holding the camera either on the road ahead or to the side (towards me) as I focus on the road and talk. It’s no different from when I have a passenger in the car. One hand on the wheel, watching the road, chatting . . . once in a while glancing at the person (or camera). I know that it’s still not a good thing to be doing, but in that case it’s not bad, IMHO.

    • For someone who has a career of helping impact the lives of others, it honestly surprises me that you are reckless with your own. I think a book on tape is a much better solution to passing the time and making the most of the situation than drivlogging.

    • Exactly! Or what if you found out that multiple people were doing this as you’re driving on the road. You can only avoid so many safety hazards. You’ve got people on cell phones, texting, and now VLOGGING too. :/

      • I remember when you weren’t supposed to even have head phones because that was distracting, and now that is practically encouraged in order to keep you ‘hands free’. I think people sometimes forget that they are driving machinery. My dad always said driving is a privilege not a right and I feel many people forget that.

  4. Not a good idea at all. Maybe if you have the phone/camera mounted so at least both your hands are on the wheel, but even then, you aren’t totally focused on the road, so I don’t like it. But it’s the same with even people just rocking out to music.

    I could never do the 3 hour traffic, I would quit and move, even if that dictated a lifestyle change. :)

  5. I’m gonna agree with Suki. I’ve had more near-accidents sitting in gridlocked traffic than speeding down the interstate. That situation demands more attention, in my opinion, because there’s a constant stop and go, accelerate and brake, and merging lunatics to watch out for. I know I always feel like I need to super pay attention in that situation, even if I’m only going 5-10 MPH.

Leave some comment love

