What exactly are you eating when you eat McDonald’s french fries?

Warning: watching this video may cause you to curse me for showing it to you and you may never want to touch McDonald’s french fries again. (You are welcome!)  So if you love the fries and want to continue eating them in peace, stop right here.  Personally, I have not had fries since I saw this video almost a year and a half ago. I’ve thought about it because they are delicious and the best around (for fast food places) but remembered this video and passed.

I have always believed in the “everything in moderation” theory.  I eat healthy, I watch what I eat, but I also let myself enjoy food. Brownies? Delish. Bacon? Bacon! Bacon! I drool… Grilled veggies? Yes, please. mmmm I’m hungry now… anyways, everything in moderation is my key to being happy and healthy. Life is too short to do anything but enjoy it so I try not to deny myself of anything, except for these fries.

How many of you have gone to McDonald’s craving chicken nuggets or a Quarter Pounder with cheese, large fries, and a drink? You know you really shouldn’t eat it, you know it is not good for you, and that you’ll feel guilty and likely gross afterwards, yet just like those dirty magazines in your closet, you just can’t help yourself because it is Just. That. Satisfying.

I generally try not to think about how my food is made or what goes into the food I am digesting.  Ignorance is bliss, right? After all, food is food, it all gets digested the same way. Simple, right? Wrong.

See, that’s when it gets disturbing. As you’ll see in this video, the experiment puts McDonald’s fries and various sandwiches in glass jars along with a freshly ground burger and fries from the local joint down the street.  The process is videotaped over the course of 10 weeks.

Watch this video and you might just thank me for doing your health and stomach a favor. The fries have an uncanny and disturbing ability to stay fresh…  indefinitely.

NOTHING SHOULD STAY FRESH INDEFINITELY.* Except honey. So what exactly are you eating when you eat McDonald’s fries? Granted, the way food breaks down in our stomach is not the same as the way it breaks down in a glass jar, but that isn’t the focus here. The point is that among all the items IN the jars, everything molded and decomposed except the fries. You can argue that fries are not the same as meat and bread and that’s why they didn’t decompose. But if that is the case, why did the local store’s fresh fries rot, and rot fast at that, while the McDonald’s fries remained unchanged? For 10 weeks!

This is blasphemy! This is sick and disgusting and gross and disturbing.  What exactly are they putting in these fries that preserves them so long? How are they so chemically processed and manufactured that they doesn’t decompose? Or even wilt?  More importantly, what are we putting into our bodies when we ingest this? What kind of chemicals and preservatives are we digesting? Are we giving ourselves and our children poison?  No wonder that the obesity rate in America is so high.

Also, I recently came across this photo on the internet. This is what chicken nuggets look like before they are nuggets.  Apparently, McDonald’s claims that they don’t do this, but regardless of that debate – it is nasty and makes me question chicken nuggets in general. Hello Morningstar! It looks like a snake mated with a flamingo after eating strawberry fro yo.

I’msorryI’mnotsorry if it grossed you out too.

*No one tried them to know if they were edible so when I say fresh, it is more in appearance as if they were fresh out of the box.

11 thoughts on “What exactly are you eating when you eat McDonald’s french fries?

  1. It’s not that I’m surprised by any of this but it literally makes you questions eating even one fry! I’m so that type that will not order them but I’ll snack on fries that my friends have right next to me. Really…was that pink stuff really pre-chicken nuggets?

  2. Still eating the fries. I think it’s important that people know what they are eating and where their food comes from because 1) it might change how they eat and 2) if they continue to eat the way that they do, they are taking the responsibility of doing so.

  3. I’ve seen the chicken nugget photo before – gag – but never saw that video. I’m honestly surprised that the sandwiches were molding and decomposing so quickly, and if I ever wanted to eat their French fries… well, that won’t be happening anytime soon.

    The more I see, the more afraid I am about the food we’re eating. I am in agreement with you – everything in moderation – but I am severely skeptical of the places that are serving us food, as well as the makers of canned/jarred food. … I realize that this probably makes me sound crazy, but the more I see and read, the more I want to make everything from scratch because I can know what went into it.

    Thanks for sharing this… and sorry for the novella of a comment!

    • I’ve recently started eating clean and natural for this exact reason. It doesn’t make you sound crazy at all! It makes you sound educated and smart about what we’re putting in our bodies.

  4. I’m so disgusted with McDonald’s, the fast food, and the pre-packed food industry, as a whole. It makes complete sense after seeing this video why there are so many unhealthy people in our country… and it makes me want to make everything from scratch so I can know exactly what I’m putting into my body.

    I’m like you and am all about everything in moderation. However, it’s going to be a LONG time before I’m even tempted to purchase french fries, especially from McDonald’s. That was gross.

    Thanks for the enlightening post, lady!

  5. You should read Fast Food Nation. I own it and you can borrow if you want but it goes into the whole process, not only chemical, but also political, of the mess of fast food. It was really eye opening and told in a really neat way.

    Also, last year we drove up the coast of Maryland to get to Ocean City and that’s where a ton of chicken farms are and the smell alone has made me almost completely swear off chicken. So nasty.

  6. That picture is not mcdonalds chicken nuggets dumbass it’s bubblegum before it’s cut and put into it’s packaging.

    • Believe whatever you want, I didn’t make up that report. I don’t think it was necessary to call me dumbass – especially when it is “its packaging” not “it’s packaging.”

  7. That video is substandard because there were no other large fast food chain’s fries to compare with. If another company comparable to McDonald’s had their fries shown here as well, it’d be an actual test. And comparing McDonald’s fries to a local stores fries is ridiculous, fast food chains are not meant to be compared with ‘regular restaurants.’

  8. When I first saw the chicken nugget photo(I look at photos first, then read the articles), I honstly thought that it was strawberry flavored soft serve……… And I nevr liked chicken nuggets anyway… or big macs.

Leave some comment love

