On Saturn Return, Soul Searching and Personal Growth

It wasn’t until I had a conversation with my sister about potential new names for my blog that I learned about the astrological occurrence called Saturn Return. It was then that a light bulb went off and I felt as if everything made sense. While I am not a devout believer in astrology, I do think they are on to something here. Things are aligning just too perfect to ignore.

So what exactly is Saturn Return?

In short, astrologists believe in something called “The Saturn Return”, a period of intense and often turbulent soul-searching that starts around age 27 and continues until the early 30s. It is when the planet Saturn has completed its orbit around the sun and returns to the place it was when you were born – your Saturn Return. This cycle can take up to 29.5 years to complete and can begin as early as age 27. According to astrologists, true adulthood begins at age 29 and not at 21 as we are led to believe. It is said that the 27th year is an intense one, one full of soul-searching, self-reflection, self-discovery and personal growth. It’s a time of endings and new beginnings.

This is the time in your life when you reflect on who you were, re-evaluate who you are, and explore who you desire to become. This process of introspection and self-realization is important in order to grow and reach your full potential. The Saturn Returns every 29 years so these are times of great change and opportunity. They can also be times of crisis. This is when we come into our Self and align with our life’s true path.

It is common for people to make significant career, personal or relationship changes during this time. We’ve all seen people who rushed to get married, or pregnant, or divorced, or change careers, all before they turned 30, only to then stop and question if those were actually the right choices. Is it Saturn Return or are people just impulsive in their early 20′s and have grown up by 30?

After all that has happened for me this year, this Saturn Return cycle really struck a chord and resonated with me. When I turned 27 last Christmas, something inside of me shifted. I suddenly questioned everything I knew, everything I wanted out of life, what my full potential could be, and questioned who I wanted to become. I wondered if I was living my life as I wanted it to be or the life I thought was for me. I questioned my very foundation. Now I’m on a positive path of self-discovery, soul-searching, and personal growth. I am finally becoming more comfortable with and accepting who I am. I had no idea about the astrological significance of what this year, my 27th year, would bring when I unknowingly deemed this year ‘The Year Of Caryn’.

Saturn asks you to imagine yourself at age 80, looking back on your life.  Did you achieve your full potential and live true to yourself? Did you accomplish what you wanted out of life? What will you regret not doing because you were too afraid to take a risk?

9 thoughts on “On Saturn Return, Soul Searching and Personal Growth

  1. if we were visiting i would whip out some books and astrodienst.com – if it’s even still called that – and we could do your chart and figure all sorts of business out. i’ll be 27 in september and i find myself thinking on these same ideas too, more intensely as time goes on. i have no doubts that you’ll come out of it stronger and wiser :)

  2. While I’m not quite at 27 yet, I feel like I am in a very similar place.

    Your “Year of Caryn” seems to be going amazing so far – and you haven’t even left on your big trip yet! I am sure Africa is going to be an amazing experience for you and give you even more time to reflect on what you really want.

  3. I have to say, I love this. But I didn’t hit mine at 27, sure I start shifting a bit of my thinking then but it happened for me at almost 31 and honestly I’m not always happy but I am in a much better place. And you have so much coming up this year to be excited about too!

  4. It is an understatement to say that the months leading up to my 29th birthday (in May) were turbulent, perspective-shifting, and self-evaluating. I think I went through the most intense identity questions/evaluation of my life starting sometime between late last Fall and well, probably still now. The notion that there’s Something Bigger out there in the universe that means I’m not the only one in this phase of my life… that’s insanely comforting. Also, you’re really lovely. Here’s to the returns of our Saturn :)

  5. I love, love, love this post, Caryn. Love it times a million and it’s just so fitting for you and this time in your life and for so many of us. I think I’m in mine now and I think Andrew might be as well – the times, they are a changin’!

  6. I’ve been feeling things similar to what you’re describing here as Saturn’s return. I’ve been doing more self exploration and self discovery. Before I found this, I’ve been thinking about how much I’ve been learning in the past 6 months and now I can understand why. Also, here’s a fun fact: No Doubt’s album, Return of Saturn, was based on this. Here’s the link about the album from Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Return_of_Saturn

  7. Pingback: The Year Of Caryn: 2012 – Progress Check | A Day In The Life…

  8. Pingback: The ripple effect of our decisions and Holy Moly! My sister is MARRIED! | A Day In The Life…

  9. Pingback: 2012 in Review. Year of Caryn complete. | A Day In The Life…

Leave some comment love

