My first blogged recipe: Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Zucchini Bread

My parents have a lovely garden in their backyard. They grow cucumbers, basil, zucchini,  broccoli, cauliflower, a variety of tomatoes, and they attempted strawberries but the rabbits ate them first. Nothing beats fresh veggies straight off the vine with no pesticides or chemicals. So when two zucchini’s were ready, I jumped at the chance to make homemade zucchini bread.

I love to bake but have yet to share any recipes with you so I thought this would be a great place to start. My recipe is a mix and match of many different recipes I’ve seen and my own creativity. I hand grated the zucchini, cinnamon stick and clove so it took a little while. I only have whole spices so I had to manually hand grate the cinnamon stick. (It was either that or go to the local store in pajamas and spend $5 on pre-ground cinnamon. This way was much more fun!) Both the cupcakes and bread turned out perfectly moist.

Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Zucchini Bread

I didn’t cut it because I brought it to work in one piece. I’ll update the photo next time.

Ingredients for deliciousness

  • 1 Cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 4 Tbsp. butter OR 2/3 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 1/3 grated zucchini (about 1 large)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large (brown) eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 freshly hand ground cinnamon stick OR 1-2 tsp ground cinnamon (to taste)
  • 1 freshly hand ground pinch of cloves OR pre-ground sprinkle taste
  • ¾ tsp. salt
  • 2 large handfuls ~ a cup of chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners and grease or spray Pam in 9x5x3 inch loaf pan. Set aside. In large bowl, whisk together the both brown and white sugar, butter (or oil), vanilla, and eggs. In small bowl, blend baking powder, baking soda, flour, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Mix contents then slowly add this flour mixture to larger bowl, stirring and adding more until complete. Mix well until there are no lumps. Stir in the grated zucchini.

Pour batter into the cupcake tin. Fill cupcake paper a little more than half full. I made 6 non-chocolate chip cupcakes. Just leave enough to have a full loaf. Once cupcakes are done, add chocolate chips to remaining batter. Fold until evenly dispersed. Pour batter into greased pan, spreading evenly. Bake cupcakes 30 minutes or until golden & firm and toothpick comes out clean. Bake loaf 40-55 minutes, depending on oven, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean (my loaf was done in about 40 minutes). Let cool in pan for about 10 minutes or until completely cooled. Loaf should pop out easily and in one piece when cool enough. Slice and enjoy!

I brought it to work the next day and a coworker said, “I was wary of zucchini in my bread, but it was amazing! Do it again!”

If you make it, let me know how it turns out for you. Enjoy!

One thought on “My first blogged recipe: Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Zucchini Bread

Leave some comment love

