I’m Engaged to the Man of My Dreams!

It was the fall of 2006, my senior year in college. I had just returned from a fabulous semester abroad and was adamant about not dating anyone and continuing my new-found freedom.  I wanted to enjoy my senior year without the stress of a boy. Early in the fall of my senior year, I had become really good friends with this one particular boy who was sweet, thoughtful, and genuine and he made me feel free to be myself. We would stay up all hours of the night talking on my porch swing.  We went to see The Departed, our first of many movies together, strictly as friends. Neither of us considered it to be a date but convincing my mother wasn’t as easy. The conversation went like this: “Mom, We’re just friends. No, he didn’t pay. No Mom, it wasn’t a date. Yes, I’m sure…”

During my sorority live-in years (Sophomore & Junior year), we had waiters who helped the kitchen staff with dinner. Most, if not all the boys, lived in the fraternity next door.  Our house mom didn’t want the boys interacting with us (lame) so I didn’t get to know the boys all that well, until I moved out. Turns out that this boy I had become friendly with was one of our waiters and remembered me because according to him, I always said, “Please and Thank you”.

Our friendship was developing into something special and I was starting to have feelings for him.  I debated if I wanted to be single for senior year as I originally intended or if I should give this boy a chance.  For the first time in my life, I hadn’t been looking to date anyone.  After all, I had just told another friend who I thought was interested how I intended to be single for senior year. (I laugh now because literally two days later I started dating Mr. Boyfriend.)  I didn’t need to be told twice that it was a good idea to go for it, but always liking a second opinion, I asked my friend Laurie what she thought. She encouraged me to follow my gut and go for it.

Little did I know at the time, that guy who used to live next door and whom I almost didn’t date because I thought I wanted to be single, would be my future husband.

We broke up twice along the way, but both times made us stronger and learn about ourselves as well as each other.  Both times we fell more in love upon our return.  While they were hard times, we wouldn’t change anything.

On July 9, 2011 – after close to 5 years of dating, the day had come that would change my life forever.  Here is the story of the day that my best friend, the man I love, asked me to spend the rest of my life with him.  

A little more history: Back in April, Mr. Boyfriend went home to Texas to visit his parents, but I knew he actually went home to go ring shopping with his mom.  When he returned, he made comments hinting that he had to be more cautious with spending.  I could put two and two together. I knew he had to have The Ring but I did not know when or how he was going to propose.

Jump forward to this past weekend. On Friday, he got home from work around 2pm. He told me he sat on the couch all afternoon, but I insisted he must have done something because the weather that day was gorgeous. I can read him like a book, so I knew he was up to something. I also saw the start of a note to me in his backpack but he grabbed it from me before I could read more.

On Saturday, we had plans to have brunch with another couple. Mr. Boyfriend suggested we could go for a walk along the beach after lunch, so we dressed accordingly.  He insisted on bringing a sports bag with us. I didn’t understand why he needed such a big bag, so I incessantly asked why he was taking it. Who would want to carry it on our walk along the lakefront? Why not just take my little tiny backpack? He wouldn’t let me touch the bag or tell me anything. Knowing he was up to something, I put in my contacts.  Even at brunch, he made a stink about me not touching the bag. During the meal, while he was in the bathroom, I told the other couple that I thought he might propose to me that day.  Then at the end of the meal, he excused himself and he went to the bathroom again. This is nothing new; he ALWAYS uses the bathroom after a meal, so I didn’t think anything of it. After a little while and a couple of jokes about him possibly flushing himself down the toilet, the other couple insisted that I open the bag.  I was stubborn and refused. I didn’t know if they knew something that I didn’t, or if they were just trying to peer pressure me because they wanted to know what was up with the bag. I didn’t want to go in the bag and find something I wasn’t supposed to see, AKA The Ring.  Eventually, I realized he wasn’t coming back, and I opened the bag.  In it was sunscreen, my gym shoes, water, the tiny backpack and an envelope with a letter.  It was the start of the scavenger hunt. I had clues to get me to my next destination and instructions to take pictures everywhere I went.

I quickly figured out the first clue and headed over to Bobby’s Bike hikeThis scavenger hunt was a complete surprise to me, so I didn’t know what they had for me.  I was alone and didn’t know if I was supposed to get on a bike or the boat that was boarding on the dock right outside the shop.  It took the employees a while to figure out what I needed because I didn’t know what to ask for. I decided to ditch the bike idea and take a cab because I was afraid I was taking too long. Finally they found my next clue and I made my way to the Lincoln statue in Lincoln Park. This was one of the stops on the bike hike, so it was easy to figure out.  In the cab I tweeted:

The boyfriend has me on a scavenger hunt through the city! Already running behind. I think he’s up to something! 🙂

Once there, one of Mr. Boyfriend’s coworkers was waiting there with another envelope and clue for me. I took my picture and headed over to the camels at Lincoln Park Zoo. Last year we saw the camels having sex, and now there are three. Because I had ditched the bike, I had to run to the zoo. It was so hot, I was nearly dying. It was then that I realized the purpose of the bike.  I arrived to find my sorority daughter sitting there at the camels, waiting for me, with another clue.

All the clues were really well planned out and executed.  The next clue sent me to The Bean at Millenium Park. Sweating profusely when I arrived, I walked in circles because I had absolutely zero idea who I was looking for. Finally, after seeing brides, tourists and Quinceañeras, I spotted one of my closest friends. She gave me my next clue which led me to the W Hotel.  I later found out that none of the people who helped knew any detail of the day except the part that they took part in.  He wanted to make sure no one told anyone anything, and that it was as much of a surprise as possible.

I was hot and sweaty, and I had no idea what to expect when I arrived at the hotel.  Would our friends and family be waiting in the hotel? Was he going to propose while I looked like a drowned rat? But when I arrived, I checked in as per my latest clue and was given a key to a hotel room.  I went upstairs and of course managed to get lost. A sign said Steam Room #301. I was alone and followed the sign to a workout room, thinking the steam room was Room #301.  Once in, I wondered if this was correct. Why was he sending me to a workout room? So I decided to call him to be sure and quickly realized I needed to find a hotel room instead. The room was gorgeous and huge – a suite with a Jacuzzi. (The inspiring words in the sideshow below were on the wall unit in the hotel room).

There was one final clue in the room. It told me to rinse off and be ready for a visitor at 430pm and be ready to go at 715pm. The 430pm visitor was a masseuse! It was Ah-maz-ing!  Mr. Boyfriend took care of everything, every little detail and possible situation. He had come by earlier in the day and dropped of my nice black dress, heals, makeup, purse, hairdryer, flat-iron; everything I could possibly need to get ready for dinner. I got ready for dinner and made my way downstairs. I was thankful I was able to clean up after the long hot day of running around.

He had arranged for a car to take me to dinner.  Once again, I didn’t know what to expect when I arrived at dinner.  Was my family going to be there? Was his? Where were we eating? Was this even the dinner location? Upon arrival, I realized dinner was at Everest, one of the most elegant and classiest restaurants in all of Chicago and definitely the nicest restaurant I have ever dined at. According to the website it is one of the country’s most premier dining experiences.  I felt special and beautiful and a bit out-of-place.  I do have good manners but I realized it is a different world when it comes to high-class dining etiquette.   I walked in to see Mr. Boyfriend sitting there with a rose and we talked about the day.  I do not like scallops but they were absolutely divine.  I thought he was going to propose at dinner but dinner came and went and still nothing. Again, after the meal was over, he went to the bathroom.  I thought, “Maybe he isn’t actually going to the bathroom. Maybe when he returns, he will ask?” But after dinner we got up and headed back to the hotel.  Now I was really confused.  Maybe he wasn’t going to propose after all this? Maybe this was just an elaborate ploy to throw me off?

When I opened the door to the hotel room, the lights were dim, candles lit, In My Life by the Beatles was playing, chocolate covered strawberries sat on the table, champagne and wine on the desk, and there were red and white rose pedals on the floor leading to and all over the bed. I thought, OH MY GOSH, THIS IS IT! HE IS GOING TO PROPOSE!  He instructed me to go over to the bed, where there was a present lying there. First instinct, “is The Ring on the bed? No, the box is too big. Is it a lingerie box?”  I opened the box and it was a photo album of our relationship together. I love photographs and photo albums. We looked through it, and when we got to the end, he got down on one knee and said this adorable, sweet, heart melting speech and asked, “Will you marry me?” Even before I saw The Ring, I practically tackled him and said YES!!

We had gone shopping months before to see what I liked. I am a bit indecisive about things like this, and this was too much money to be indecisive. I liked bits and pieces from various rings, so he designed The Ring based on what he knew I liked.  He designed it for me.  It is stunning and beautiful and I couldn’t be any happier.  He pulled out all the stops on this and I love it!  I can’t stop looking at my hand, to remind myself this is real!  He chose me! I love adventures like this and he was original in a way that was special to us. The scavenger was unique to experiences we have shared together. He was romantic, thoughtful, and sweet and I’m overcome with so much excitement, joy, happiness.

He is smart, funny, generous, loyal, honest, genuine, loving and handsome. He is my best friend and now my Fiancé. Mr. Boyfriend will now be known as Mr. Fiancé, and yes this still sounds weird to me.

I look at the stunning ring on my finger and it all feels so surreal.  But it is real. I still can’t believe that I am engaged to marry my best friend, the man of my dreams next year.

**If you are in a reader, be sure to click-through to see the slide show of photos.**

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Caryn

Hi! My name is Caryn. I'm a midwest transplant living on the east coast. I love games, asking questions, making lists, and sunshine. I dream of someday owning an antique car, starting my own charity, and traveling the world. Welcome to my Blog!

26 thoughts on “I’m Engaged to the Man of My Dreams!”

  1. What an awesome story! Major points, it sounds like he did a really great job of coordinating everything for this super-special moment 🙂 Congrats!

    1. Thanks Megan! He did do a great job! I agree! I (partially) joked that if he did it in any way that wasn’t to us, that I’d say No. How could I say no to this?!

  2. Caryn, this made me tear up. All of those wonderful surprises! Congraulations!!!

    Also? In My Life is one of my all time favorite Beatles songs : )

    1. I think we’ll be instant friends if that is one of your all time favorites. That means you like others too… The Beatles are my favorite! Thanks Garnet!

  3. This is great, BUT: Where is the picture of the ring?!?! Do we get to see the pictures that you had to take all day?! I AM DYING OVER HERE!!!

    Also: SQUEEEE!!!

  4. Wow, that’s such a beautiful story! I’m so so happy for you! By the way we played In My Life at our wedding when we were introduced – it’s a great song for great moments 😉

  5. HOLY CRAP THAT RING IS GORGEOUS. And made even more gorgeous by the fact that he put so much time into it. The scavenger hunt proposal was so incredibly adorable and YAY! I got chills! I can’t wait to see you in CHI soon and I want to meet this man! YAYYYY!

  6. Oh my goodness Caryn, I am sitting here with tears in my eyes and I am just so, so, so happy for you!! This has got to be one of the best engagement stories I’ve ever heard and I can’t even being to explain how happy I am right now reading this. Congratulations again!!

  7. OMG! I am melting all over the floor from your story. What a sweet, thoughtful, romantic way to propose. Your boyfriend rocks! Congrats and much love to you both!

Leave some comment love

