On a Different Sort of Soul Mate

Hi guys! By the time you read this, I’ll be on The Oasis, one of the largest cruise ships, drinking fruity drinks with umbrellas, hopefully getting color on my pale body and listening to some Bob Marley. Today’s guest post is from one of my dearest friends Terra of Terra-bear.com.  Be sure to check out her blog if you haven’t already (I featured one of her posts in my last Wonders of the Web Wednesday, so you should have already checked her out!) because not only is she entertaining and insightful, she is a fabulous writer and friend.    

Greetings blog readers! I’m Terra from terra-bear.com and Caryn asked me to guest post while she gallivants around the ocean on one of the world’s largest cruise ships and I’m absolutely honored to do so.

I met Caryn in Vegas. It was four days of action-packed, bloggers in sin city adventure and I can say firmly, several months after the fact, that the experience changed my life. I came away from the trip a certified fan of the Caryn Club and was determined to stay in touch with her until the next time we could see each other in person.  There was something about her, something that I knew, in my little heart of hearts, was special and after each subsequent conservation we had, I became more and more convinced that her and I might just be long-lost twins of some strange sort.

On the flight back from Vegas to Virginia, I started thinking about love and friendship and about how sometimes the sparks that start a friendship can look a whole lot like the sparks that start romances in story books and fairy tales. Soul mates of the romantical sort get all of the attention, sure, but is the friend stuff really so different? What about those times when you sit down with someone, share some parts of yourself and realize that person, sitting next to you, is exactly what you need or that their story looks an awful like your story and that the major parts of your life story have galloped along on much the same trajectory as your own? What about when you meet someone and the more you find out about them, the more you discover who they are, at their core, the more you realize that YES, EXACTLY, and that you need this person in your life come hell or high water because they feed and nourish and illuminate your soul and make you laugh so hard you snort wine?

Growing up, I felt the push to find and ensnare Prince Charming, to find a Ken to match my Barbie and to find my one true love, my soul mate, the man of my dreams. I’m pretty sure I’ve found him, and, with Caryn’s recent engagement, it seems she’s found hers as well, but I’m not convinced the soul mate train should stop there. What about all the other people who change and enrich our lives? Why can’t we call them soul mates as well?

When I sit down and think about it, there are whole piles of people who have impacted my life, people who have bumped into my Universe and forced it to shift course, to move; people who have broadened my horizons and who have shown me parts of myself I would never have been able to reach on my own. Some were boyfriends and lovers, sure, but a lot where friends. Some were teachers and professors, others family members. A few were even strangers.

So I’m done limiting myself to soul mates of the romantic sort. I’m subscribing to the idea that a soul mate is anyone who alters our life’s course and who enriches the lives we are currently living. Sometimes they stay in our lives for years, decades, maybe even whole lifetimes, and other times they pop in and out, just long enough to leave a mark and to push us further toward being ourselves. Sometimes we meet these people and we know, right way, that they’re exactly who we need in our lives right now, and other times it takes longer. Sometimes it takes trials and tribulations to discover that they, these soul mates of ours, are actually soul mates. Sometimes it takes looking up and realizing that they’re the only one standing next to us as we weather the roughest parts of our life.

The more I live, the more I think nothing is left to chance. We bump into people for a reason, our lives merge for a reason and we instantly have attractions, be they of the naughty nature or not, for a reason.

Life is full of soul mates just waiting for a spark to ignite and an adventure to begin.

Thanks Terra for gracing us with your guest post today!   I completely agree, people do not come into our lives by chance and while some friendships need time to develop, other happen instantly.  You my friend, came into my life, even though I didn’t realize it at the time, when I needed you most.   As I have said before, I am beyond thankful our paths crossed in Vegas and for making my life brighter. 

Author: Caryn

Hi! My name is Caryn. I'm a midwest transplant living on the east coast. I love games, asking questions, making lists, and sunshine. I dream of someday owning an antique car, starting my own charity, and traveling the world. Welcome to my Blog!

7 thoughts on “On a Different Sort of Soul Mate”

  1. Ah, Terra, I love this! I, too, agree that friend soulmates don’t get nearly the attention they deserve. It took me a long time to make the friends I have now, the ones I value most. I’ve been notoriously bad at maintaining friendships, & I cherish these ones too much to let them slip away. You wouldn’t let the romantic love of your life slip away, would you? No. Then why would you let the friendship love of your life do the same?

  2. i could not agree with you more. we all need soul mates that aren’t romance based as well, life is so much better that way. also, just love this whole post.

  3. I’m a believer that soul mates exist even in enemies… You know those people you can’t stand them but you know they are important in your life? This is a great post reminding us that relationship magic is universal in every kind of relationship! Miss you both!!

Leave some comment love

