Happy 1st Birthday Blog!

Dear Blog,

Happy Birthday! Today you are a year old.  I seriously cannot get over how fast this year flew by.

Last January, I decided a change was needed in my life and you were born. I felt something was missing and that I needed to do something for myself .   I felt inspired to write again.  I had no idea just how much you would change my life and how you would fill that void.  It started with Blogger, then I joined Twitter and then you became a big girl and we moved to WordPress.  After much rebellion, I joined Twitter because I was told it was a great tool for bloggers spread the word and to communicate.  It was then through Twitter that I heard about and signed up for Bloggers in Sin City only a few weeks into our relationship .  There I met 50+ wonderful and spirited new blogger friends, many of whom share a lot of similar interests and who continue to inspire and support me. I learned to push myself out of my comfort zone and had the weekend of my life. Because of that unforgettable weekend in Vegas, I chose to attend the 20SB Summit in August and saw these girls over Labor Day weekend.  I also attended a Chicago Blogger/Twitter meetup and met some more awesome internet pals.  Without you I never would have visited Richmond, VA or Philly. Together, we documented milestones and events throughout the year.

You, my blog, have brought people into my life that have shown me what it is like to have friends who make me feel good about myself, who love me, support me, and are even willing to fly across the country to cheer me up. You have given me comfort and sanity and introduced me to so many new experiences. You provided me with an outlet to express myself and ability to find my voice.  I have friends all over the country now.  I had no idea when I started all this that it would be more than just another URL on the internet, that people would actually read what I have to say, and that some of my best friends in the world would be fellow bloggers.

Even for all that you have given me, there were still times I neglected you and didn’t write as often as I wanted to or didn’t have time to follow through on post ideas.  I’m sorry, I’ll be better this year.  Thank you for everything and everyone that you have brought into my life. This year has been extremely special and memorable, because of you.  Happy Birthday!

Love, Caryn

If all of this happened in just one year, I can’t wait to see what happens in round 2! Happy birthday blog, cheers to another year.

 

Here is a Blog Baby Book of some (not all) of the posts and experiences from our first year together!

Author: Caryn

Hi! My name is Caryn. I'm a midwest transplant living on the east coast. I love games, asking questions, making lists, and sunshine. I dream of someday owning an antique car, starting my own charity, and traveling the world. Welcome to my Blog!

8 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday Blog!”

  1. I only flew a quarter of the way across the country. 🙂

    Seriously though, I’m so glad you started this blog and I’m so glad you took a chance on coming to Vegas last May. What a scary ass thing to do so soon after starting a blog. Love you lady!

  2. I remember when you and I were first chatting about you joining Twitter and starting a blog. Hard to believe that was an entire year ago! Caryn, you have truly blossomed in this space. You are a beautiful writer and wonderful, kindhearted person who has so much to share. Keep blogging, lady! XO

Leave some comment love

