Eating Clean: Kale Chips

I’ve been on a health kick lately. After experiencing completely natural, GMO/hormone-free meat in Tanzania, I realized I didn’t want to put those chemicals and preservatives in my body anymore, so I decided to give up all meat that didn’t fit the bill. However, I continued to eat processed pre-prepared foods. It hit me the other day that this is a contradiction and silly to only do half ass eliminating preservatives. I’ve also had trouble loosing those stubborn pounds lately so I decided to try completely “eating clean.”

What is Eating Clean? I think it means different things to different people. Here are the guidelines I’m going to attempt to follow:

  • Eating foods with ingredients that you can actually pronounce. If you can’t read it, don’t eat it!
  • Eating meats that comes from the butcher and aren’t pre-packaged or human manufactured. Also avoid farm fed fish.
  • Like your momma said, “Eat your fruits and vegetables!”
  • Avoid processed food like canned or frozen foods or anything you find in the chip aisle. Best to shop perimeter of the store. If it can spoil, eat it! (but obviously eat it before it spoils…)
  • Whole wheat does not mean whole grain. Stick to whole grain.
  • Basically, eat mostly foods that are off a tree, bush, plant or vine and you are in the clear. The goal is to get the food as close to it’s natural state as possible. But I’m not going to be fanatical about it.

In MHO, I think there is something to be said for all the chemicals and preservatives in our food and the challenges it poses for our body’s digestion and the increase in cancer statistics. So, I was on the hunt to find a clean snack. I’d seen kale chips floating around on Pinterest so I thought I’d give it a try. They hit the craving of potato chips but are so much healthier. That is, if you make them at home. Store-bought completely defeat the purpose as it is pre-packaged and loaded with preservatives. So opt for homemade! DELISH and super easy! Instead of 160 calories of Ruffles chips PER 1 oz. – Kale chips have about 34 calories per cup! (If you load them with cheese, it will obviously be higher…)

So let’s get to it, shall we?

Time: 10-15 minutes

Ingredients:

1 large bunch kale
1 Tablespoon olive oil (optional) or Pam Spray
Seasoning to taste: suggestions: garlic powder, cayenne, salt, paprika*

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 F.

Wash and dry the kale. (super important to dry!)

Remove the stem

Tear leaves into bite size pieces

Spread on cookie sheet and sprinkle lightly with oil or Pam

Lightly Sprinkle seasonings**

Bake 7-10 minutes or until crispy

*Use sparingly. Spices can be more pronounced than usual

** I made different flavors. I put garlic powder throughout. In one section only salt and olive oil, another batch with just olive oil and another with garlic powder and cayenne.

kale dried
Washing/Drying Kale
Kale Seasoned and ready to bake
Kale seasoned and ready to bake
ready to plate
Crispy & ready to plate. See how they shrunk?
YUM! snack time!
YUMMY! Snack time!

Verdict: The cayenne ones had a lot of flavor and were good for an occasional snack but I think the simple garlic, salt and olive oil was my favorite. It really hit the spot of replacing chips. It had the perfect saltiness for a healthy snack.

If you try the variations or your own concoction, let me know which is your favorite. Do you have any “clean” recipes you love and would like to share? Please do so in the comments below!

Enjoy!

 

I am not a dietician and don’t pretend to be. Please consult your Dr. for questions and nutritional advice. Recipes and comments are my take on Eating Clean recipes. I cannot guarantee that recipes are 100% Clean. They are loosely based on what I interpret or consider acceptable options for this lifestyle.

Author: Caryn

Hi! My name is Caryn. I'm a midwest transplant living on the east coast. I love games, asking questions, making lists, and sunshine. I dream of someday owning an antique car, starting my own charity, and traveling the world. Welcome to my Blog!

4 thoughts on “Eating Clean: Kale Chips”

  1. Thanks for the recipe Caryn! You’ve just inspired me to make a bunch of kale chips. (I’ve wanted to for awhile and didn’t realize it was so easy!) PS. Happy New Year! xox

  2. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be exciting to read articles from other authors and practice something from other
    sites.

Leave some comment love

