Eating Clean: Banana Pancakes

Banana based pancake recipe. No flour; only pure natural ingredients.

Pinterest is a great place to find recipes for just about anything. I came across a couple of pancake recipes that called for only two-ingredients: just an egg and banana. Notice there is no flour. You won’t find a pancake recipe that is any healthier than this.Flour free, sugar-free pancakes, and it tastes good? Yes, please! To be straight with you, they aren’t terribly filling but they do hit the spot for when you are craving pancakes. I don’t think I’ll ever make regular flour pancakes again.

I didn’t think that just egg and banana were enough, so I added cinnamon and I’m glad I did!  These were delicious and light! It’s okay. Be skeptical; you probably don’t think that this works. How would just those few ingredients combined create the consistency of a pancake? I don’t know but it does and it’s delicious.

INGREDIENTS:

1 Egg
1 Large Banana
2-3 shakes Ground Cinnamon (to taste)
*you can also added Sugar Free Syrup


Serving size about 4;  Calories: 170 Fat: 6g Total Carbs 26g Dietary Fiber: 3 Protein: 7g*

DIRECTIONS: Easiest pancake you ever make! 

– Peel and slice the banana. Add the banana to a bowl and mash it up to remove clumps.

banana

mash it up

– Add the egg and mix it until it is fully combined

add egg

– Add in cinnamon and stir again


mix

-Spray a medium-sized skillet with cooking spray.

-Heat on medium

-Fill a 1/4 sized measuring cup with the pancake batter or pour from bowl for desired size (less dishes to wash)

-Pour onto heated skillet.

– Add any toppings if you wish, now.

-Cook each side until lightly brown. It won’t bubble like a flour pancake but close and it will be solid enough to flip.

cook the pancake

Enjoy these healthy pancakes!!

ready to eat pancake

I am so excited to continue to make these for breakfast or after a good workout. They are so light and easy to make. Being that I don’t eat meat unless it is anti-biotic/hormone/GMO-free, this is a good source of protein for me. Maybe next time I’ll even add a drop of vanilla extract, or  blueberries, strawberries, chocolate chips, PB2, or pumpkin! I know, I’m just jumping on the crazy train over here, tonight folks! Add whatever floats your boat. It’s all delicious.
{If you make these at home, be sure to come back and let me know what you think! I’d love to hear your suggestions of any additional fix-ins too!}

*according to MyFitnessPal

** anyone else think of Jack Johnson when you hear “Banana Pancakes”?

I am not a dietician and don’t pretend to be. Please consult your Dr. for questions and nutritional advice. Recipes and comments are my take on Eating Clean recipes. I cannot guarantee that recipes are 100% Clean. They are loosely based on what I interpret or consider acceptable alternatives for this lifestyle.

Author: Caryn

Hi! My name is Caryn. I'm a midwest transplant living on the east coast. I love games, asking questions, making lists, and sunshine. I dream of someday owning an antique car, starting my own charity, and traveling the world. Welcome to my Blog!

13 thoughts on “Eating Clean: Banana Pancakes”

  1. Not only do I think of Jack Johnson, but I immediately get that song stuck in my head. Which I will now proceed to sing. All day long.

    Pretend like it’s the weekend now…

  2. All I have to say is DELISH!!!! Luckily I had some bananas and eggs lying around so I decided to give it try! They were sooo yummy! I topped mine with yummy peanut butter! I will be making a batch in the morning as well!

  3. Sounded so great/easy in theory but mine turned out a sloppy mess. Maybe the 1 egg wasn’t enough for the large banana I used to keep it together? I did however still eat it as I hate wasting food and the taste was nice. Will try a different ratio next time.

  4. Just used this recipe to make them for my breakfast this morning, and they were amazing!!! I’ll definitely be making these often and I’m passing the recipe onto my mum! Thankyou soo much for this recipe, mmmmm 🙂

Leave some comment love

